Thursday, July 24, 2014

MU37/SGG029: SUR- Dog Daze C26 *REPRESS*

MU37/SGG029: SUR- Dog Daze 
9 song album.

$6 + shipping for tape & download.


2nd press of 135 copies. Artwork by Nathan Duncan.

Austin's Sur hints at stoner rock of the past, think if Nebula or Kyuss was writing in a swamp rather than a desert, but played through the the eyes of kids that grew up on hardcore and going to the beach complete with melodic guitars nd break down sing alongs .

Click through for track list, links, streams, and press. 

This is a collaborative release with Sleeping Giant Glossolalia.

Side A
1. Shadow Puppet
2. Jail
3. Rumors
4. Shut Up
5. Jaywalk

Side B
1. Fox M
2. King's Disease
3. Great Plains
4. Synesthete

2nd press of Sur's Dog Daze is in an edition of 125 copies (100 on purple tapes & 25 on clear tapes) hand stamped with full color jcards.

$6 plus s/h*: 
Available here, at SGG, and directly from the band.
Click through for info about the initial press

Original press of Dog Daze was released in September 16th, 2013 in an edition of 75 copies  with hand painted and stamped labels.

The second cassette release by the Austin, TX trio who were schooled in hardcore and noise rock long before they ventured into their own hybrid of heavy psychedelic atmospheric grooves.  The first review from The Creative Intersection gives a more in depth look into the EP:
Is it possible for a band to be all over the place, and for them to not only succeed, but have that be their strongest trait? The answer is yes, or at least I feel SUR have managed to pull that off on their Dog DazeEP. SUR are not noise rock, although their songs are in the red and distorted for harshness rather than melody. They're not post-hardcore, although they have the intensity that is on par with some of the best. They're are definitely not psych-rock, even though you can hear some of the influence in the way the guitars chime through the noisy haze. Instead, SUR of are a compression of all these things (and bits of several other genres), constantly interweaving between one another, making music that is unstable but unrelenting as well.

Despite all that, there is some general direction to the tape. The first side is built around SUR's shorter songs, and in turn they pack much more of a sonic, blistering punch. The Dog Daze EP opens on "Shadow Puppet", with distortion crafted perfectly to sound like a raging hornet's nest before launching to a drug damaged mixture of post-hardcore and noise rock, like Lightning Bolt and Double Dagger thrown into a room together, fighting and recording a song together. The energy lasts in the rhythm section, but has been drained from the guitars and vocals once the tracks "Jail" & "Rumors" hit, creating this wonderfully disconcerting feeling that makes it feel as if everything is off balance and about to fall apart. It works even better because it allows for moments in each of the song for the band to launch into these noisy assaults that let the song burn bright for short time before crashing down in again. Even the sun damaged psych surf of "Shut Up", has moments of chaos to keep it from falling trap to convention.
The B-side is where the band really stretches their legs and let the sprawl take over. "Fox M" is an almost tribal tune, spacy and percussive, enhanced by the band's female member Danielle Moran taking over vocal duties. The track would almost be a Explode into Colors track if not for the drill like guitar within it. Dog Daze ends on "Great Plains/Synesthete", an almost pure instrumental track that is the tape's most straight forward song, a steady beat with grungy riffs played continuously through the song. That is, until everything shifts in the song's last minute to reveal a bright, melodic patch of guitar rock that had lay hidden underneath. And really, there is no better way for SUR to have ended the tape. If nearly everything about SUR's sound collided with one another, it seems fitting that the last thing heard by them is a momentary burst of catchiness, if only to contrast everything else that was just heard.  (words by David Glickman of the Creative Intersection)


  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  2. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.


    Hi, try to give it a listen. Thanx.